A Good Cause: Girl Up (Uniting Girls to Change the World.)

Uniting Girls to Change the World.

When I heard about this cause, I was so moved. Girl Up (with the help of the United Nations Foundation) is a foundation dedicated to giving American girls the opportunity to become global leaders and help underprivileged, adolescent girls around the world.

The goal and vision of Girl Up is to help girls from countries like Liberia, Ethiopia, Somalia, Malawi, and Guatemala, live happy, healthy, safe, educated lives.

There are more than 500 million bright, talented girls living in developing countries who each have a dream, but are often unable to reach their full potential due to the circumstances around them.

Can you imagine not being able to get an education, be seen by a doctor when you needed to, or just wanted to be included in your community, but can’t? Many girls struggle with this on a daily basis.  With the help of Girl Up, American girls can now get involved and take part in finding a solution to help other girls around the world overcome these obstacles and help them better their lives.

GirlUp.org offers tips on how girls can get involved in their own community and help raise money and awareness for this foundation in the hope of helping other girls achieve their dreams, just as they are doing themselves.

From car washes to bake and garage sales, girls all over America can chip in and do their part to pay it forward and help girls of all ages in developing countries.

Check out the video below from the Girl Up YouTube page to find out a little bit more on what Girl Up is all about:

There are other ways to help spread the word about Girl Up.  You can take action by spreading the “Girlafesto”.  The “Girlafesto” is where you tell five of your friends and/or family members to get involved with Girl Up, then they would pass the message on to their five friends and/or family members. You can also purchase Girl Up gear like bumper stickers and totes.  You can become a BFF in which you are a Girl Up supporter who has gone above and beyond to help support Girl Up.  From hosting Girl Up events to word of mouth on Facebook and petitions, a Girl Up BFF helps spread the word and awareness of this foundation.

Did you know that there are over 67 million children that are currently not enrolled in school, most of which are young girls? For girls, being in school can mean avoiding long work hours, staying healthy, and getting a job when the time comes and they are ready to.

In developing countries, young girls are also not receiving the proper health care.  Girls are also more likely to be subjected to violence and discrimination.

I strive for a better world and I know that you wish the same.  Even if you are not a young American girl, you can still do your part to help others in this world and make a difference.

For more information on Girl Up, check out GirlUp.org.  You can even donate to the cause by clicking here.  Even the littlest amount helps.  If you are unable to donate financially at this time, word of mouth is always encouraged as well.

To learn more about how you or your daughter can start a Girl Up Club, follow the link to the PDF file and download the Girl Up Starter Guide.  There, you will find out everything you need to know on how to get started and involved in your community.  Get Involved.

To find out more about Girl Up, please check out GirlUp.org.  Support them on Facebook and follow them on Twitter @GirlUp.

“I am a girl. bright, able, outspoken, soft-spoken, serious, spirited, adventurous, curious, and strong. I am me. I follow. I lead. I learn. I teach. I change my hair, my clothes, my music, and my mind.  I have a voice that speaks, ideas to stand on, a world to step up to.  I matter. and so does she. She may look different and talk different. But she is like me. She is a girl. And together we will rise up. Because while I am strong, together we are stronger. And together, our voices will change the world. You see a girl.  We see a future.” – Girlafesto

Together, we can all make this world a better place for our children, our grandchildren, our families, and ourselves. Thanks for reading.

Happy Tuesday!

- J

.

9 thoughts on “A Good Cause: Girl Up (Uniting Girls to Change the World.)

  1. You would be amazed at how many girls in this country have the same disadvantages. I am a school teacher who deals with many families who are generationally stuck in poverty, limited potential, and a mindset that puts down efforts at achievement. Even worse, some of our students have parents who are gang members and encourage their children to buck the system whenever they don’t like it. I’ve had more than one student who has been shot or watched a family member be shot. Don’t forget our own neighborhoods when you think of girl power.

    • Wow, your comment is so heart breaking. My sister is a school teacher as well and she has seen a lot of things like that, herself. Your 100% right thought, we should focus on all girlsfrom all over including America. Thanks so much for the comment.

  2. This is beautiful theme which resonates all over the world – thank you. In India of recent a wonderful, touching song for the freedom of women, girls is doing the rounds.

    A part of the lyrics go like this –
    ‘The dream to fly high in the sky,
    dreams of touching the clouds with the palm,
    I have to remove these distances,
    give me wings
    give me wings’.

    Good wishes to the “Girl Up” movement!
    Cheers! :)

  3. Thankyou so much for sharing! I will share this on my facebook page and reblog. I do not have any children of my own, but I have many friends whose daughters might want to get involved. I support anything that will give girls a chance to reach thier full potential.

  4. Pingback: A Good Cause: Little Star Foundation | A Lot On Your Plate

  5. Pingback: A Good Cause: Little Star Foundation

Leave a Reply

